UK Business Labs - The UK Business Forum Click for Full Membership Details_
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27-11-2009, 04:30 PM
Mark CP's Avatar
Junior Lab Tech
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kettering, Northants
Posts: 127
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Mark CP
Default Online imitator- becoming a real problem

Hi,

Hope someone can help, it's come to our attention that someone is using our good name for nefarious purposes, basically it appears to be an online scam with someone plastering our name, address, company reg number etc all over various forums advertising iPhones.

As you can see from this link:
http://classifieds.smashits.com/a,16...ite---$300.htm

It’s pretty obvious that it's not legit but needless to say it's somewhat irritating to have someone using our details and credibility for criminal gain.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how we can get this scam shut down?

Thanks,

Mark
__________________
Visit www.c-p-ltd.com or give us a call and ask for Mark; IT supplies without the hassle
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27-11-2009, 05:02 PM
Mat's Avatar
Mat Mat is offline
Lab Tech
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Malvern, UK
Posts: 313
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Mat
Default

Report the ad as SPAM. If it's replicated in several places, the best thing you can do is put something on your site along the lines of:

"It has come to our attention that our name is being used without authorisation. We will only ever sell products on this site."
__________________
Skyblu - Web Design Worcester
ITS - Customs Consultants
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21-12-2009, 12:02 PM
Trainee Lab Tech
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 40
iTrader: (0)
Default

If they also have their own website, please send in a SPAM report to google. Use your webmasters account.
What Mat says is propably the best thing to do: report these messages as spam.
If it continues and you have some contact details of your imitator there are legal ways to stop him/her.
__________________
Jasper Martens |Business insurance from Simply Business
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21-12-2009, 09:22 PM
Junior Lab Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 230
iTrader: (0)
Default

since this is fraud I would advice you ask the site admins to hand over the info (ip address, names etc) about the person who is doing it and get them to delete the content.

I would advice that you get a good lawyer before things get out of hand (E-Commerce Lawyers Legal Contracts, Help and Mediation Services UK Wide- www.limeone.com) are good at this sort of thing.
__________________
Pet Blog
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22-12-2009, 09:32 AM
Mark CP's Avatar
Junior Lab Tech
Full Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kettering, Northants
Posts: 127
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Mark CP
Default

The problem we have is that the site is COMPUTER PRODUCTS LIMITED - www.comprolimited.cc.cc

It seems to be from a template producing site, cc.cc, who i've tried to contact but as yet no response from Korea.

As for contacting google and reporting it as Spam, not sure as to the benefit or what it's to do with google?
__________________
Visit www.c-p-ltd.com or give us a call and ask for Mark; IT supplies without the hassle
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22-12-2009, 09:38 AM
Trainee Lab Tech
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 40
iTrader: (0)
Default

Google can ban their search results. At least people can not find it anymore through search engines.
Just double check if you can do this through the Google webmaster service.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark CP View Post
The problem we have is that the site is COMPUTER PRODUCTS LIMITED - www.comprolimited.cc.cc

It seems to be from a template producing site, cc.cc, who i've tried to contact but as yet no response from Korea.

As for contacting google and reporting it as Spam, not sure as to the benefit or what it's to do with google?
__________________
Jasper Martens |Business insurance from Simply Business
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22-12-2009, 03:28 PM
Junior Lab Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 230
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark CP View Post
The problem we have is that the site is COMPUTER PRODUCTS LIMITED - www.comprolimited.cc.cc

It seems to be from a template producing site, cc.cc, who i've tried to contact but as yet no response from Korea.

As for contacting google and reporting it as Spam, not sure as to the benefit or what it's to do with google?
.cc.cc is owned by .co.cc.

To report spam use this CO.CC - Free Domain name registration + Free DNS service.

I dont know if Google can easily block .co.cc domains becuase .co.cc is a subdomain.

Good Luck
good luck.
__________________
Pet Blog
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23-12-2009, 10:27 PM
Applicant
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ashby-de-la-Zouch
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Skype™ to VeryMark
Default

Mark, you've sent me a pm but I can't pm to answer it apparently until I've logged 5 posts.

The source tracks back to a name and address in South Korea which also seems to be responsible for various other scams. The web host seems to be a South Korean ISP too.

Your taking civil legal action in the UK would seem to me to be pointless unless either the person or firm responsible has identifiable assets in the UK or you are prepared to spend further money trying to get an English court judgement enforced in the Korean courts. In either event, legal proceedings would be expensive and you would not recover all your costs.

The only other avenues I can think of are:

1. Writing to the Korean ISP to complain - ISP's are sometimes sensitive to their services being used for illegal purposes.

2. Contacting Trading Standards - their services are free and they have greater powers and resources.

3. Contacting the Commercial Attache in the British Embassy in Seoul - they might possibly be able to engage the attention of the South Korean government who might be persuaded to take action if they consider it an embarrassment to their country, and the Embassy might also have experience of dealing with similar complaints.

4. Contacting Google and the other major search engines like Bing, Firefox and Opera and asking them to ban the source in question from their results.

5. Contacting the forums concerned and also eBay likewise.

If you would like me to do anything further, please let me know.
__________________
Philip Cooper, VeryMark - Trade Mark & Copyright Attorneys. T: 0845 519 3268 www.verymark.info
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2010, 11:00 AM
BinhZientek's Avatar
Trainee Lab Tech
Full Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Blog Entries: 14
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via Skype™ to BinhZientek
Default

Mark

You can try and take their website down. I did the following when a scam website was trying to use my name to rob people:

1. check on Whois.com - Domain Names & Identity for Everyone or Whois.net - Domain Names to find out the details of which company is hosting the website
2. contact the company hosting the scam website, and email them detailing evidence of the scam website and ask them to take down the website
3. they will investigate and if it is scam will take it down

I have had to follow these steps to take down 3 different scam websites so far in the last 3 months. Good luck.
__________________
Binh Zientek
Accommodation Specialist
Tel: +44 (0)207 476 8963 E: sales@qualitylondonapartments.co.uk
London Apartments | London Serviced Apartments | London Accommodation | Apartments in London
Bookmark and Share Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:22 PM.

buy and sell advertising space online

Click for banner rates

Click for banner rates

Affordable ecommerce solutions, hosting and domain registration

Discover Bing.  A new search experience is coming.

Web hosting UK

Sell Used Cisco

Legal Templates

SEO Manchester

Buy advertising space online

Cloud VPS Hosting


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0
Forum styling and imagery copyright © www.ukbusinesslabs.co.uk 2009.
The opinions expressed on this message board do not necessarily represent the opinions of the owners, staff and sponsors
A Bean Internet venture
A Bean Internet venture.